The 2021 Anesthesiology faculty development fund inaugural recipients are Jinlei

The 2021 Anesthesiology faculty development fund

The vision is to Advance faculty academic achievements and expand the scholarly footprint of the department. Promote the early exploration of creative and innovative clinical and translational research concepts and enable clinician educators in developing education research and develop new NIH and other federal fundable projects and programs.

Anesthesiology faculty development fund inaugural recipients are Jinlei Li and Shilpa Rao.

Jinlei Li – Opioid-Sparing Analgesia after Total Knee Arthroplasty

a Randomized, controlled trial enrolling 320 patients undergoing Total Knee Arthroplasty

•Primary Aim: To test if Dexamethasone sodium phosphate plus Methylprednisolone acetate results in superior analgesia effect compared with Liposomal Bupivacaine (LB) for post-surgical pain control, as measured by lower pain score, less opioid consumption and shorter duration of opioid usage post TKA
•Secondary Aims: To compared secondary endpoints including quality of postoperative recovery using QoR 15 scores and prosthetic joint range of motion between randomization groups

Shilpa RaoIntraoperative Brain Monitoring during Carotid Surgery: Real-Time Detection of Ischemia Using Cerebral Oximetry and EEG

a Cohort study of patients undergoing elective carotid endarterectomy for symptomatic carotid disease with simultaneous monitoring of 8-channel EEG and near-infrared-spectroscopy brain tissue oxygenation (StO2)

•Primary Aim: To determine episodes of cerebral ischemia using StO2 and EEG recordings. The study defines potential cerebral ischemia as >12% reduction in StO2 values from pre induction baseline.
•Secondary Aims: To determine cerebral AR based on changes in StO2 and MAP over a range of 30 mm Hg, and to detect a lower limit of AR. To determine if intraoperative ischemia detection is associated with postoperative stroke, hospital outcomes, and 3-month functional status.

Submitted by Garrett Sendlewski on April 16, 2021

News Read More: The 2021 Anesthesiology faculty development fund inaugural recipients are Jinlei

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.